Instagram is the world’s leading social network. Most of the people have their Instagram account and the Android app installed on their phones. In this tutorial, you will learn how to delete your Instagram account permanently.
If you want to delete your Instagram account, then read the second half of this post. And read the first part to find out how to deactivate your Instagram account temporarily. I also have written about what will happen if you deactivate or delete your Instagram account. So without further ado, let’s get started.
Deactivating Instagram Account
If you want to deactivate your account rather than permanently deleting it, you can follow the steps mentioned below.
Step 1. Go to Instagram.com, Open it on any web browser and log in to your account.
(you can not deactivate or delete your account from the Instagram app!)
Step 2. Now click on the top-right corner of the screen (on the profile icon.)
Step 3. After that click on “Edit Account.”
Step 4. Scroll down the page to find “Temporarily disable my account” link.
Step 5. Click on that link, and it will open a new window asking you the reason why you are deactivating your account.
Step 6. Choose any one reason from the drop-down menu, and enter your password.
Step 7. Finally, click on the red button saying “Temporarily Disable Account.”
Note: Temporarily deactivating Instagram account will hide your profile, photos, comments, and likes. These things will be hidden until you reactivate your account by logging into it again.
Deleting Instagram Account
If you want to delete your account permanently, here’s what you can do.
- You can open this link on any browser.
- After opening, you have to log in to your account.
- Once you successfully log in, you need to choose any reason why you are deleting your account from the drop-down menu.
- After you select the reason, you have to enter your Instagram account password and click on the red button saying “Permanently Delete My Account” to delete your account.
Note: Doing this will delete your account permanently, it can’t be recovered again.
What happens when you delete Instagram account
If you delete your Instagram account your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be permanently removed. Also please note that you can’t signup again with the same username on Instagram once you delete your account.
Well, there you go the step by step guide on how to delete an Instagram account permanently. You can follow these step to delete/deactivate your account from any Android mobile phone quickly. However, please note that you can’t do it from the app, you have to use a web browser for this.
Now If you want, you can share your experience about Instagram and why you are going to deactivate or delete your Instagram account. Share your thoughts in the comment section.